About the Episcopal Church

ShieldThe Episcopal Church welcomes all who worship Jesus Christ, in 109 dioceses and three regional areas in 17 nations. The Episcopal Church is a member province of the worldwide Anglican Communion.

The mission of the church, as stated in the Book of Common Prayer’s catechism (p. 855), is “to restore all people to unity with God and each other in Christ.”

The 2012 General Convention established the Anglican Communion Five Marks of Mission as a mission priority framework for the 2013-2015 triennium:

    • To proclaim the Good News of the Kingdom
    • To teach, baptize and nurture new believers
    • To respond to human need by loving service
    • To seek to transform unjust structures of society, to challenge violence of every kind and to pursue peace and reconciliation
    • To strive to safeguard the integrity of creation and sustain and renew the life of the earth

The history of the Episcopal Church in the United States coincides with the history of our nation. Following the Revolutionary War, the members of the Church of England living in the United States decided to carry on the worship and tradition of the Church of England while creating a new structure that would reflect an identity with the new nation. As the nation expanded westward, so did the Episcopal Church.

For more information and to visit the Episcopal Church’s website, please click HERE.

The Diocese of Fond du Lac
St John’s is part of the diocese of Fond du Lac, and Matthew Gunter is our bishop. The diocese covers the east central and northeast part of the state of Wisconsin. We are a small diocese with about 35 congregations made up mostly of small and medium size congregations.

The diocese of Fond du Lac is one of three dioceses in the state of Wisconsin, and is part of the Episcopal Church of the United States.

For more information and to visit The Diocese of Fond du Lac’s website, please click HERE.